Working from Home Series : Challenges Introduction

ID-100219703 There are so many people that think working from home sounds amazing. No daily commute, no distractions from others when you need to concentrate on an in-depth task. No boss looking over your shoulder. No one to tell you when to take your lunch break and how long for. The truth is…

It IS amazing working from home!

All of the above are true factors to consider if working from home is an option for you. Whether it be working for a company that gives you flexible working, or if like us here at Remote Associates, you’re a team of Virtual Assistants with your own business. It’s a no brainer really isn’t it. Where do you sign up?

However, before you start spending money on your office equipment or renovating your space for a place to work (which is not necessary by the way, but we will cover that in a later post in the series), take a few moments to think about what the challenges might be.

  • Are you comfortable with working on your own?
  • Do you have the discipline required?
  • Are you able to maintain a work life balance?
  • Do you have the space to work productively?

These are just a few things to think about. To get those thoughts in motion and to work out if performing your duties from the comfort of your own home, is really the right direction for you.

Over the next few weeks, we’ll be going into these challenges in a little more depth, and hopefully by the end of it, you’ll know if getting that home office ready for action is a compatible match for you. We would also love to hear if you have any thoughts or concerns about starting a business from home? What fears are you facing? Perhaps you are already working from home and finding something particularly challenging?

We would love to hear from you!

~ Hayley and The Remote Associates Team

 Image courtesy of Vichaya Kiatying-Angsulee at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

3 thoughts on “Working from Home Series : Challenges Introduction

  1. Kelvin Brown

    Working from home or remotely is a challenge but one I agree is a necessity if one is able to do it. I find that not been confined to an office or attached to a regimented 40 hour week and finishing every working day at 6:30pm allows me to get my work, creative ideas and projects done in a third of the time. It means I can spend the rest of my time doing the things I most like to do. I don’t confine my time at home to work either but anywhere that suits me. I use coffee bars, I go to The Lake District to visit my elderly parents or meet up with my network of colleagues and contact to share ideas and practices to enhance my projects and procedures. Being confined to office space, being disturbed and every working hour, being at the beck and call of your manager has had its day. I know what’s best for me, I know what I need to do but if I get stuck I also know who I can count on to help me. An office is like a prison space to me and commuting back home is getting more difficult by the year, I did it for 11 years. So finishing at 6:30pm ends up being 7:30 – 8:00pm by time you get back home.

    The coffee bar culture is for me, I achieve far more that being stuck in an office. Ultimately, I’m a happier and more productive person.

    Reply
    1. remoteassociates Post author

      Thanks for your comment Kelvin. You’ve hit the nail on the head there by demonstrating freedom when you work from home. We say home, but home can be anywhere you choose, whether it’s a local coffee bar, library or you’ve decided to take a trip away for the week for a change of scenery. It’s all about being able to adapt your settings to suit you and to make you more productive.

      People being happy and productive in their working life is fantastic. If there is an opportunity there to become a remote worker then we say ‘go for it’

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Working from Home Challenge: Are you Comfortable on Your Own? |

Leave a comment